Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

baby-doll

I recently ranted about how the domestic thriller genre may as well be replaced by the words “for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train“. It’s now moving beyond a pet peeve, to the point that I think it’s doing new releases an active disservice. I can only assume that whichever blurb writer […]

Continue reading →

The Last of Us by Rob Ewing

the-last-of-us

Rob Ewing’s The Last of Us is an interesting take on the apocalyptic genre, populated almost entirely by children. This in and of itself gives the novel a fresh and unique feel, while adding an additional element of peril – these children would barely be equipped to take care of themselves under the best of […]

Continue reading →

Pottermore Presents by J.K. Rowling

pottermore

Pottermore has always been a poor substitute for “The Scottish Book” – the Harry Potter encyclopedia J.K. Rowling once planned to write. Don’t get me wrong, I love the Sorting and wand choosing elements of Pottermore hugely, mostly for the repeated affirmation that I am a total and utter Ravenclaw nerd. But the rest of […]

Continue reading →

The Loving Husband by Christobel Kent

The Loving Husband

In the post-Gone Girl world, it seems that “for fans of Gillian Flynn” might as well usurp “domestic thriller” as a genre. I can picture the library signs now: “Young Adult”, “Horror”, “Crime”, and there, nestled in the far corner by the coffee machine, “For Fans of Gillian Flynn”. The Loving Husband is no Gone […]

Continue reading →

The Fireman by Joe Hill

Fireman

This book is something special. Let’s start with some stats, shall we? Books I’ve shelved on Goodreads: 617 Books that have wound up on my favourites shelf: 18 Books that kept me up all night: 10 Books that made me cry: 3 Books that left me bereft and at sea, listening to Dire Straits’ “Romeo […]

Continue reading →