Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle

Wolf in White Van made me ache. It resonated in deeply personal ways, that were tough to face head-on but impossible to ignore. John Darnielle’s writing is magnificent. I love the Mountain Goats beyond measure, so I experienced some hesitancy over whether the book could live up to my expectations, but I needn’t have worried. […]

Continue reading →

Agatha: The Real Life of Agatha Christie, by Anne Martinetti, Guillaume Lebeau, and Alexandre Franc

Agatha stumbled across my path by happy accident. While scrolling through the Guardian books section one break time, I found myself reading Rachel Cooke’s review of this graphic biography and thought it a wonderfully novel idea. I filed it away somewhere in my memory banks, then coincidentally came face to face with it a month […]

Continue reading →

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

I recently ranted about how the domestic thriller genre may as well be replaced by the words “for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train“. It’s now moving beyond a pet peeve, to the point that I think it’s doing new releases an active disservice. I can only assume that whichever blurb writer […]

Continue reading →