Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects was such a fun, fast read. I loved Gone Girl (and privately gnash my teeth every. single. time. publishers tout their thrillers as ‘totally the next Gone Girl! Or maybe The Girl on the Train! Or, you know, one of those other ones. Please buy our mediocre thriller, please.’). I was less enamored […]

Continue reading →

One Kick by Chelsea Cain

I came to Chelsea Cain via the beautiful Tricia Helfer, after hearing a rumour she was set to play serial killer Gretchen Lowell, star of Cain’s Heartsick series. Somewhere along the way I got sidetracked into downloading Cain’s One Kick instead. Sadly, it turns out that someone-whose-face-I-like-might-one-day-play-a-character-from-one-of-this-author’s-other-books isn’t the best basis for picking a good […]

Continue reading →

What She Knew by Gilly Macmillan

What She Knew is a serviceable thriller, which ultimately muddles around too much to pack a powerful punch. Sure to touch a nerve with parents, it follows the disappearance of seven-year-old Ben, who runs ahead one day in the woods, only to vanish entirely. Mother Rachel is understandably distraught, but as a narrator seems far […]

Continue reading →

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

I recently ranted about how the domestic thriller genre may as well be replaced by the words “for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train“. It’s now moving beyond a pet peeve, to the point that I think it’s doing new releases an active disservice. I can only assume that whichever blurb writer […]

Continue reading →

The Loving Husband by Christobel Kent

In the post-Gone Girl world, it seems that “for fans of Gillian Flynn” might as well usurp “domestic thriller” as a genre. I can picture the library signs now: “Young Adult”, “Horror”, “Crime”, and there, nestled in the far corner by the coffee machine, “For Fans of Gillian Flynn”. The Loving Husband is no Gone […]

Continue reading →