Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

I recently ranted about how the domestic thriller genre may as well be replaced by the words “for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train“. It’s now moving beyond a pet peeve, to the point that I think it’s doing new releases an active disservice. I can only assume that whichever blurb writer […]

Continue reading →

The Loving Husband by Christobel Kent

In the post-Gone Girl world, it seems that “for fans of Gillian Flynn” might as well usurp “domestic thriller” as a genre. I can picture the library signs now: “Young Adult”, “Horror”, “Crime”, and there, nestled in the far corner by the coffee machine, “For Fans of Gillian Flynn”. The Loving Husband is no Gone […]

Continue reading →

Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

In 2015, I fell head over heels in love with Alessandra Torre’s Deanna Madden series. The Girl in 6E and its successors were unlike anything I’d read before, blending the pulse-racing suspense of a thriller with, well, the pulse-racing thrill of erotica. I suppose I expected more of the same from Moonshot, albeit with perhaps […]

Continue reading →

After the Crash by Michel Bussi

Unusually for me, I really can’t remember where I first came across this book. It’s easy to see why I was drawn to download it though, with the premise promising a compelling thriller. When a plane crashes into a Franco-Swiss mountainside, only one passenger survives – a three month old baby. When two families step […]

Continue reading →

Beside Myself by Ann Morgan

There were two main draws that lead me to read Beside Myself. The first was the blurb – twin sisters who swap places, only for one to refuse to swap back. The idea hooked me, and it was greatly compounded by this being the first new psychological thriller I’ve picked up in eons that didn’t […]

Continue reading →

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

In a Dark, Dark Wood first came to my attention via NetGalley, where the tag line ‘Someone’s getting married. Someone’s getting murdered.‘ jumped out and demanded to be read. I’m a sucker for a good thriller, and the premise of old school friends reuniting for a deadly hen-do sounded perfect for a tense and fast-paced […]

Continue reading →